Brad John Becomes New Chairman of the Board

Aug. 7, 2023 - Each year during the Leadership Institute, important Delta Upsilon business takes place. This includes electing members to the International Fraternity's Board of Directors. On July 29, 2023, during the Assembly of Trustees at LI, Brad John, Iowa '96, was elected as the Fraternity's 33rd Board of Directors Chairman. 

John joined the Board of Directors in 2018 and brings experience as a former International Fraternity Headquarters staff member, a chapter advisor and Board member into the role. He has received a BA from the University of Iowa and a BS from DeSales University. Professionally, he has been in the insurance industry for 20 years and is the Head of Life Sciences for The Hartford. Brother John currently resides in Indianapolis, Indiana with his wife and three daughters. 

"I am honored to be elected as Chairman," John said. "I am fortunate to be in the position of continuing the good work of past Boards. There are many challenges ahead, but I believe that fraternity, and Delta Upsilon in particular, is more relevant that ever. We will immediately begin to dive into the implementation and execution of our new strategic plan. It is our “North Star” to maintaining our position as the premier fraternal organization Building Better Men."

As John begins his tenure as Chairman of the Board, the Fraternity celebrates the accomplishments of Past Board Chairman Robert Lannin, Nebraska '84, who retired from Board service during the Leadership Institute. Lannin joined the Board in 2013 and served as Chairman from 2018-2023. During his tenure as Chairman, Lannin's leadership helped the Fraternity successfully navigate a global pandemic; further its data-driven decision making through the Membership Outcomes Assessment; enhance its educational program offerings; and launch a new strategic plan.

"I’ve often said that I could never begin to give back for all I have gotten out of Delta Upsilon" Lannin said. "That remains true. I am so grateful to all my fellow Board members, past and present. I know without doubt Brad John will do an amazing job as the new Chair. He is perfectly suited to the job. So, I know our future is bright." 

During the 2023 Assembly of Trustees, the alumni delegates also elected Michael Daley, Western Ontario '05, and John Roberts, Florida '86, to the Board of Directors as Alumni Directors. All Alumni Directors of officers are elected to two-year terms. During the Undergraduate Convention, two Undergraduate Directors are elected to the Board each year for one-year terms. Logan Caudill, Bradley '24, and Aiden Powell, Wichita '25, were the two undergraduates elected this year.

Delta Upsilon would also like to thank the dedicated members of the Fraternity's Nominating Committee, which includes: Chairman E. Bruce McKinney, Missouri '74; Michael Daley, Western Ontario '05; Rick Holland, Syracuse '83; Bill Messick, Lafayette '68; Steve Rowley, Ohio '65; Rick Taylor, North Carolina State '82; and Nick Welton, Lehigh '10.