Kaye Schendel and Mindy Sopher receive top AFA Awards

Sept. 20, 2017 - The Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors (AFA) annually presents awards to a number of individuals for their outstanding efforts to the fraternal movement. This year, Delta Upsilon congratulates Kaye Schendel and Mindy Sopher, recipients of two of the top three awards. Kaye serves DU as the Director of Global Initiatives, and Mindy is a long-time DU friend and volunteer.

Kaye Schendel is the recipient of the 2017 Jack L. Anson Award. This award is presented to an individual not employed by a college or university who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to the fraternal movement beyond his/her respective organization. Kaye is being recognized for impacting thousands of students through service learning both as a campus professional and DU staff member. For Delta Upsilon, she has developed the Global Service Initiative and Project Jamaica programs into award-winning, impactful initiatives. She has led more than 25 GSI trips, and with Project Jamaica, she has lead another 25 trips, working with a number of campuses and organizations to model the GSI experience for their students.

Kaye is a past national president of her sorority, Sigma Sigma Sigma, and currently serves as the president of the Center for Fraternity and Sorority Research. She is also a 2011 recipient of Delta Upsilon's Dr. Augustus White, III Award for Civic Engagement and Service. 

Mindy Sopher is the recipient of the 2017 Robert H. Shaffer Award. This award recognizes an individual in the field of higher education who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to fraternities and sororities. In her more than 30-year career, Mindy has made an indelible impact on the interfraternal community. She has worked on three different campuses, making long-term mentoring relationships with her students and colleagues at each. As a chapter advisor for DU’s North Carolina State Chapter, Mindy has played an instrumental role in its success following its re-chartering in 2004. She has also facilitated a number of DU programs, including the 2017 Leadership Institute. Mindy is a 2008 recipient of Delta Upsilon's James B. Conant Award of Merit in Education & Service. 

“Delta Upsilon is proud to work with both Kaye and Mindy,” said Executive Director Justin Kirk. “For years, our Fraternity and our members have benefitted from their expertise and mentorship. These recognitions are much deserved.”

Three other individuals associated with Delta Upsilon are being recognized with AFA Sue Kraft Fussell Distinguished Service Awards. Jason Kilmer, Washington ’91; Noah Borton, Senior Director of Educational Programs; and Veronica Moore, Director of Educational Programs.

All awards will be presented at the AFA Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, on Dec. 2.

To learn more about the Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors, click here