Maryland chapter reinstalled

Nov. 4, 2017 – On Delta Upsilon’s 183rd Founders Day, the Fraternity had extra reason to celebrate: the Maryland Chapter was reinstalled as an active chapter.

The Maryland Chapter was first installed on May 13, 1972. After closing in 1992, would be another 22 years before the Fraternity would return to campus. In the fall of 2014, DU returned to campus recruit new members and recolonize the group, with the Recolonization Ceremony taking place in October 2014. Over the next three years, the colony would work toward its goals for rechartering. Such goals involved recruitment and chapter operations to ensure the group built a solid foundation and would be a strong, healthy chapter upon reinstallation.

The Reinstallation Ceremony was held Nov. 4, 2017, at the University of Maryland Memorial Chapter along with Rite II of the Initiation Ceremony. Fourty-four undergraduate men and one alumnus were initiated into the newly reopened chapter. DU Educational Foundation Trustee Warren Nesbitt, Wisconsin ’76, gave the Charge.

In his address, Nesbitt gave the following advice: “As a college organization, you have to set goals, develop strategies and tactics to achieve those goals, and never lose sight of our Four Founding Principles. And the same goes for your life after college.”

A reception was held at the College Park Marriott following the ceremony for members, alumni, parents and guests to continue the celebration.

Congratulations to the Maryland Chapter! 

Maryland Chapter Initiates 

Trevor Ashmun

Liam Beatus

Acheev Bhagat

Sandro D. Brognara

Jack Bundra

Matthew J. Burns

Chris Castellano

Tiger Chen

Aaron Emalfarb

Andrew D. Forrest

Stephen Frocke

Thomas Furlong

Patrick Green

Bradley Guest

Benjamin P. Harper

Matthew Holman

Arjun Kaushik

Quentin C. Kent

Samay S. Kindra

Jason Krakower

Matthew Laferriere

Luke Landiak

Daniel Markstein

Yann Martinez

Camden Masters

Ryan Mong

Matthew Muccio

Luke Novey

Nathan J. Ostrander

Evan M. Paddison

Adam Paley

Sushrut Pathy

David C. Reddick

Michael Rees

Christopher Rogers-Spatuzzi

Shiv Saini

Abdulai Sei

Todd Spencer (alumni initiate)

Cameron J. Spruill

Logan Strausman

Patrick K. Talsania

Derek Thompson

Thomas Walker

Michael Wong

Jacob Wurman