Named Endowment Funds

Named endowment funds ensure a donor’s giving makes an impact forever. A minimum pledge of $25,000 is required to establish a named endowment fund, and the funds are subject to a 4% annual spend rate (based on the prior 12-quarter fund average). Alumni chapters can also establish a Chapter Education or Housing Account (CEA/CHA), which are not subject to the 4% spending policy and provide grants to chapters for educational needs.

The following fund list is from the 2022-2023 fiscal year. 

Educational Program Funds

Providing these annual educational program scholarships

Roy F. Allan Scholarship
Sandy and Bruce S. Bailey Scholarship
Scott R. Bayman Scholarship
Lisa and William J. Bittner Scholarship
Richard B. Campbell Scholarship
Anthony B. Cashen Scholarship
Ralph W. Castner Family Scholarships
J.R. Castner Memorial Scholarship
Richard L. Delano Scholarship
Charles E. Downton Scholarship
Clint M. Dworshak Scholarship
Craig R. Foss & Craig D. Vermie Scholarship
Stephen J. Frawley Scholarship
Jeffrey L. Fuhrman Scholarship
David A. Garrison Scholarship
Robert K. Gerometta Memorial Scholarships
Nicholas T. Giorgianni Scholarship
Gary J. Golden Memorial Scholarship

William R. Gordon Scholarship
Lewis D. Gregory Family Scholarship
G. Steve Hamm Scholarship
William H. Harkey Scholarships
Gus H. Harwell, Jr. Scholarship
John C. Herron Scholarship
John W. Hoffman Memorial Scholarship
Bruce V. Howard Family Scholarship
Michael P. Hurley Memorial Scholarship
Brad M. John Family Scholarship
Edmund C. Johnson Scholarship
Scott A. W. Johnson Memorial Scholarship
Howard Kahlenbeck, Jr. Scholarship
Martin Krasnitz Scholarship
Robert S. Lannin Family Scholarship
Allan M. Lansing Scholarship
Donald E. Larew Scholarship
David D. McKeag LI Scholarship
David D. McKeag Scholarship

Charles D. Miller Scholarships
Warren P. Nesbitt Scholarship
Tony T. Pasciuto Memorial Scholarship
Alvan E. Porter Scholarships
Purdue Alumni Scholarship
Thomas S. Rakow Scholarship
William C. Rappolt Scholarship
Daryl W. Reisfeld Scholarship
John M. Roberts Scholarship
John W. Rogers Scholarship
Neal D. Roper Memorial Scholarship
Paul E. Rosenthal LI Scholarship
Paul E. Rosenthal DUEL Scholarship
Christopher L. Saricks Scholarship
Roy E. Shaffer Scholarships
Donald C. Slawson Scholarships
Richard X. Taylor Family Scholarships
David H. Wynja Scholarship

Tuition Scholarship Funds

Providing these annual merit-based tuition scholarships

Dennis H. Cheatham Memorial Scholarship
Andrew J. Cramer Scholarship
Ross K. Fuller Memorial Scholarship
Thomas R. Harney Scholarship
Roy J. Harney Memorial Scholarship

Dion L. Higgins Memorial Scholarship
Kansas State Rural Opportunity Scholarship
Kansas State Study Abroad Scholarship
Louisville Alumni Scholarships
Raymond E. Mason, Jr. Scholarships

James D. McQuaid Scholarships
Nebraska Alumni Scholarships
Leonard E. Rhodes Memorial Scholarship
Nathaniel Sceva Memorial Scholarship
Robert J. Sovchik Memorial Scholarship 

Recruitment Scholarship Funds

Providing annual merit-based recruitment scholarships

Bradley J. Marshall Recruitment Scholarship 

Chapter Endowment funds

Providing annual funding for the educational needs of DU chapters

Arlington Chapter Custodial Account
Bradley Chapter Legacy Plan
Bucknell Chapter Legacy Plan
Carthage Chapter Legacy Plan
Chicago Trust
Florida Chapter Legacy Plan
Illinois Chapter Legacy Plan
Iowa State Chapter Legacy Plan
Kansas State Chapter Legacy Plan (Troy E. Horine Memorial Endowment Fund)

Kansas State Trust
Kent State Chapter Legacy Plan
Lafayette Chapter Legacy Plan
Miami Chapter Legacy Plan
Michigan Chapter Legacy Plan
Missouri Chapter Legacy Plan
Nebraska Chapter Legacy Plan
Northern Iowa Endowment Fund
Northwestern Chapter Legacy Plan
North Carolina Chapter Legacy Plan
NC State Chapter Legacy Plan

Ohio Chapter Custodial Account
Oklahoma Chapter Legacy Plan
Oregon Chapter Legacy Plan
Purdue Chapter Legacy Plan
Rutgers Chapter Legacy Plan
San Diego State Chapter Legacy Plan
San Diego State Chapter Custodial Account
San Jose Chapter Legacy Plan (Edwin T. Mosher Endowment Fund)
Syracuse Chapter Legacy Plan

Operating Endowment funds

Providing annual operating grants for DUEF programs and initiatives

Robert J. Black Endowment Fund
Wilford A. Butler, Jr. Endowment Fund
John A. Delaney Family Endowment Fund

Endowment for Chapter Leadership
James N. Graham Emerging Leaders Fund
Charles Evan Hughes DUEL Fund
Maurice S. Mandel Scholarship Fund 

Brian E. Mudrick Family Endowment Fund
Oak Circle Endowment Fund
DUEF Unrestricted Endowment Fund

New Named Endowment Funds

Scott R. Bayman, Florida ’68

$30,000 Scott R. Bayman Educational Program Fund

After attending the 2022 Leadership Institute and receiving the Sloan-Kettering Award of Merit in Business, Brother Bayman was inspired to support the Ignite The Charge Campaign with a new fund providing educational programming preferred for the Florida Chapter. This new fund, along with his continuing support of the Annual Loyalty Fund, will ensure undergraduates from the Florida Chapter receive critical leadership each year.

David A. Garrison, Miami ’90

$30,000 David A. Garrison Educational Program Fund

Brother Garrison’s commitment to the Ignite The Charge Campaign includes support for the Annual Loyalty Fund, along with the establishment of an educational program fund preferred for the Miami Chapter. The new fund will provide DUs from Miami with scholarships for one of the Fraternity's award-winning programs each year.  

John M. Roberts, Florida ’86

$25,000 John M. Roberts Educational Program Fund

Brother Roberts was inspired to give to the campaign because of the innovation the campaign brings to the Fraternity and how it will continue to launch Delta Upsilon into the future. Brother Roberts continues to stay involved and wants to ensure all chapters are able to have the sources necessary to perform their best and attend programming.

G. Steve Hamm, San Diego State ’70

$37,500 G. Steve Hamm Educational Program Fund

To bring DU’s award-winning programs to the local level, Brother Hamm established this new fund to provide an annual Building Better Men Retreat at the San Diego State Chapter. The customized retreat strengthens leadership skills and empowers members to establish clear goals that meet the needs of the local chapter. This new fund will work in conjunction with the San Diego State Chapter Legacy Plan.

Anthony (Tony) P. Glaves, San Diego State ’81

$27,500 Tony T. Pasciuto Memorial Scholarship

Brother Glaves has established an educational program scholarship in memory of loyal DU Brother Tony Pasciuto, San Diego State ’79. The gift from Brother Glaves is part of the San Diego State Chapter Legacy Plan, and it advances the objectives of the Ignite The Charge Campaign by providing annual program scholarships to the Regional Leadership Academy for DUs from San Diego State. 

Edmund C. Johnson, Purdue ’58

$25,000 Edmund C. Johnson Educational Program Fund

Inspired by the objectives of the Ignite The Charge Campaign, Brother Johnson established this new fund to provide educational program scholarships to DU undergraduates with preference for the Purdue Chapter. His support will build better men in perpetuity. 

Andrew J. Cramer, Miami ’12

$25,000 Miami Presidential Performance Scholarship Fund

Brother Cramer was motivated to set up the Miami Presidential Performance Scholarship Fund to inspire each Chapter President of the Miami Chapter to strive for high performance at the local level as determined by the Fraternity’s Men of Merit Standards Program.